Aliveatwork's Blog


That’s What Friend Are For …
May 10, 2012, 5:52 am
Filed under: Alive @ Work, Alive at Work, Aliveness, Joe Contrera | Tags: ,

“For good times, for bad times, I’ll be by your side forever more, That’s what friends are for!”

Burt Bacharach & Carole Bayer Sager

Back in 1982 Dionne Warwick and Friends (Elton John, Stevie Wonder, and Gladys Knight) collaborated on the hit song entitled “That’s What Friends Are For.”

Recently, I was thinking about the topic of friendship and realized that “back then” the word “friend” seemed to have a much different meaning

“Back then” I knew who all of my friends were. I didn’t feel the need to do a mass correspondence to beg people to like me, something I liked, or something I did.

They were my friends because we liked each other and we liked hanging out together.

And we hung out together … at the park, at my house, or someone else’s house … not in some virtual living room that didn’t exist!

“Back then” I didn’t need to know that my friends were drinking a cup of coffee, sitting in a restaurant, eating a doughnut, or burping.

“Back then” we played games like dodge ball, baseball, and kick-the-can, where you actual had physical contact … it was real. I didn’t play an imaginary game with person I claimed to be my friend whom I never met.

And when I made a move while playing monopoly … with my friends, I didn’t have to broadcast to 1,357 other friends that I just bought Baltic Avenue.

It seems to me that that the word “friendship” has been diluted down to a point where it really doesn’t have a whole lot’ve meaning anymore.

Today there are people who believe they have 4,000 friends on Facebook.

Here’s what I know …

I can still count on 2 hands my good friends and on one hand my very best friends. These are the folks who have stood by me during the good times and the bad times in my life.

You know who you are and I am grateful that you are in my life.

And for those of you who truly believe that you have 3,757 friends on Facebook …

As your “friend” I think I need to tell you this …

WAKE UP, get a real life, and get some real friends.

I wasn’t gonna say anything but … THAT’S what friends are for!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

