Aliveatwork's Blog


Speaking of Wisdom … Honestly!
April 12, 2012, 5:48 am
Filed under: Aliveness

“Honesty is the first chapter in the book of wisdom.”

Thomas Jefferson

The topic for this week is wisdom.

As you know wisdom is defined as – “the state of being wise.”

Following the definition path for wise you find – “having the power of discerning and judging properly as to what is true or right.”

And that’s where it seems to get a little bit tricky for me.

So who discerns what is true or right?

Does that mean that the individual decides what is right or true?

I know a number of people who justify certain behaviors which I find to be pretty far from the “truth” or what I believe to be “right.”

And haven’t we all at one time or another in our lives justified certain behaviors in our past … that today when we look back, we know that is wasn’t the right thing to do?

I think Thomas Jefferson had it right when he said “Honesty is the first chapter in the book of wisdom.”

So that got me thinking …

I started thinking about a few areas in my life that I need to examine on a daily basis … that is if I wanted to journey further down the path towards becoming a wise old soul.

Below is a list of 3 questions that I am going to ask myself  at the end of each day for the next week:

  1. Did I tell the microscopic truth in all of my interactions with others today – Microscopic truth means I don’t intentionally leave out details or important parts of the conversation to protect my image or reputation.
  2. Did I speak the facts today when speaking about others – Sometimes I find that I am listening to and or speaking opinions about others that I do not know for a fact to be true, maybe you do the same thing?
  3. Was I completely honest with myself and others when it comes to how and with who I spent my time today? Have you ever found yourself agreeing to do something with someone even though you really didn’t want to be there … I have … and I guess that can be considered a form of not being honest with yourself  or the other person.

In a perfect world we would be completely honest with ourselves and others in every detail and of our lives.

Not that we would intentionally lie or shade the truth (although some folks have difficulty telling the truth at times).

I just think that sometimes we unconsciously say things in the moment that aren’t 100% right or true, especially when speaking of others.

I’m not looking for perfection. I am simply looking to see if I can increase my level of wisdom and I think these 3 questions are a good start.

So what about you?

I challenge you … no …  better yet …  I double-dog dare you to take the Honesty-Wisdom Challenge.

All you need to do is commit to answering one, two, or all 3 question,s everyday for the next week and see what changes in your life.

Who knows you may end up being as wise as Solomon and as Honest as Abe Lincoln in 7 short days!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

