Aliveatwork's Blog


Staying True To Yourself … Follow The Money!
November 17, 2011, 6:53 am
Filed under: Aliveness, Empowerment, Self Improvement | Tags: , ,

I was having a phone conversation with a very dear friend the other day. We were discussing my favorite topic as of late … authenticity.

As we discussed the topic we chatted about how being authentic also means that you live in alignment with your values. She then asked me “So Joe, what do you value, what’s important to you?”

I had to stop and think about it for a moment because I felt a little stuck. Then she asked, “Where are you spending your time and your money because that will tell you what you value!”

WHOA, stop, hold your horses, kill the power, stop the train, shut … the  front door!!

I had never heard that question asked in that way before and it really got me thinking. So I took out my MasterCard statements and pulled out my checkbook … and that’s when I had an epiphany.

I AM NOT IN ALIGNMENT WITH MY VALUES!

Okay so after the initial shock wore off and I decided that this was not the end of the world, I decided that it was time to regroup and start making some adjustments.

Below are the questions I asked myself in order to get back on track and move towards my authentic self. You might want ask yourself these same questions if you should ever find yourself in the same place.

  1. What do I really love to do? What makes my heart sing? What are the things that I can’t … not … do?
  2. How much of my time, energy, and financial resources, am I committing to these things that light me up?
  3. What would I need to do to realign myself with the things that bring me joy and happiness?
  4. When will I take action?
  5. How will I stay on track?

The world is a crazy place … it makes so many demands on our time and our resources. It is so easy to get distracted from the path we walk that leads us to our authentic selves.

We get buried at work, we get lost in a relationship, or maybe we find ourselves in a situation that robs us of our peace and serenity.

We may allow ourselves to get overrun by fear, buy into the garbage that the media shoves in our face, or start believing the constant barrage of advertising that tells were not enough and shows us how to be more like somebody else … someone other than who we are!

All of these things can lead us on a path away from our authentic selves. And if we stay too long on that path, eventually we will find ourselves unhappy, disgruntled, or worse yet …  lost and unclear about who we are!

So how do you know if you’re on the right path?

You might want to start by examining your credit card statements and your checkbook … it might be time for a realignment!

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

